The following information is provided as an overview of the election process for a seat on the Chino Hills City Council. Elections are consolidated with the Statewide General Election which is held on the first Tuesday, following the first Monday in November of even numbered years.

Terms are staggered so that three seats are available during one election cycle and two seats are available during the next cycle. There are no term limits for City Council Members. The Mayor is selected from the membership of the City Council, routinely at the second meeting in November of each year, effective December 1st, to preside at Council Meetings and to act as the ceremonial head of the City. The Vice Mayor is also chosen at that time and acts in the absence of the Mayor. If you would like additional information or are interested in running for election, please contact the City Clerk at (909) 364-2624.

For complete election information, visit the San Bernardino County Registrar of Voters

New By-District Voting

The City of Chino Hills has changed how Council Members are elected and switched from an at-large election system to a district-based election system. Voters will only vote for the City Council position up for election in their specified district.
Find Your District

In the November 6, 2018 General Municipal Election the following Council Members were elected to serve the Districts in which they live in.

District 1: Ray Marquez, term ends November 2022
District 2: Peter J. Rogers, term ends November 2022
District 4: Brian Johsz, term ends November 2022

Two Council Members are still serving at-large terms until the November 2020 Election.

District 3: Art Bennett, term ends November 2020
District 5: Cynthia Moran, term ends November 2020

Find Your District

Residents can look up their District by using an interactive online map. A District Boundaries Map is also available. 

Results of the November 6, 2018 General Election